News for May

Apologies for the hiatus in blogging – April has been a whirlwind of news and activity, including moving into the new house. Whilst the new pad allows me to participate fully in the twentieth century in that it has mobile signal (hurrah), it isn’t quite yet allowing me to engage with the twenty-first, as we currently have no internet connection (boo). You can get a bit of 4G by waving your phone by the windows upstairs, but that’s about it. Win some, loose some.  Hopefully Plusnet will connect us up this week. Or next.

So, I’m writing to you from the University of St Andrews library with its (usually) marvellous WiFi. I’ve been doing a fair bit of writing and research here over the last few months, not least because it has useful books, is free to use, and is at a constant cosy temperature. Until now I’ve just been a lone writer, plying her solitary craft in the corner, surrounded by students a decade younger. But from today I’m happy to say that I am…

[drum roll please]

A WRITER IN RESIDENCE AT THE UNIVERSITY OF ST ANDREWS.

Since January I have been working freelance for the University of St Andrews School of Geography and Sustainable Development, writing the School magazine and producing Against the Tide, a small publication charting the history of coastal rowing. Through this I work I’ve got to know Head of School Prof Bill Austin and Professor of Human Geography Prof Nina Laurie, who both showed a keen interest in my research and writing for This Golden Fleece. Prof Laurie invited me to join her wonderfully named GOSSIP (Geographies of Sustainability, Societies, Inequalities and Possibilities) research group, and with Bill’s support the School created the post of Honorary Writer in Residence for me. It is an honorary (i.e., unpaid) role, but will give me access to resources, research and opportunities that otherwise would have been unavailable. A huge thank you to Nina and Bill for including me in the university’s research community!

Wayside cottage
Our new home!
Leave a Reply

