Welcome to This Golden Fleece

This blog charts my journey as I knit my way around the British Isles throughout 2017, and I’ll be using it to share the stories I discover with you. The blog gets its name from the subject of Jason and the Argonauts’ quest, the golden fleece of the winged ram at Colchis.

I’ll be knitting with yarn from Fair Isle to Kent, Yorkshire to the Cotswolds, to find my way through the labyrinth of styles, stories and sheep breeds that make up Britain’s woollen heritage.

Where possible, I’m aiming to work from heritage patterns: if you want to knit along with my journey, share your pictures and comments with me on Twitter @thisgoldfleece, Instagram @thisgoldenfleece and on Ravelry as ThisGoldenFleece.

My first project is to complete a pair of gloves in January – my next post will tell all…

Leave a Reply

